⏱ 16 min read  ·  ✅ Updated Oct 2026

Last Updated: October 28, 2026

⚠️ Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked with "Check on Amazon" are affiliate links — learn more.

For a desk that shares one keyboard and mouse between two computers, a 4-port USB 3.0 switch with a wired desk controller is the sensible default from this UGREEN set, and the 10 Gbps USB-C listings are the upgrade when an external SSD rides along. The ten listings below range from a plain USB 2.0 box to 7-port models with USB-C ports and a power adapter. Because every title comes from the same brand, the real differences are the link speed, the port types, the cables in the box and whether power is supplied separately. Those are the points to compare, and they are the points this guide sticks to.

Top picks at a glance

ModelKey point from the titlePrice tierBest for
4-Port USB 3.0 Switch with ControllerUSB C and A devices, 2 USB 3.0 cablesMidAll-round two-PC desk
USB 2.0 Switch Selector, One Button4 devices, USB 2.0, 2 USB A to A cablesBudgetKeyboard, mouse, printer
USB 3.0 Switch Selector, One Button4 ports, 2 USB 3.0 cablesBudgetCheapest 5 Gbps option
2-in 7-Out USB 3.0 Switch4 USB-A + 3 USB-C, power adapterPremiumCrowded docking desks
2-in 7-Out USB 3.2 Switch10 Gbps, 4 A + 3 C, power adapterPremiumFast drives plus accessories
USB Switch A and C Input with Remote4 ports, 2 USB-C data cablesMidDesks where the button is out of reach
USB 3.0 Switch 2 in 2 Out2 ports, 2 USB 3.0 cablesBudgetKeyboard and mouse only
USB 3.0 Switch with Gigabit Ethernet4 USB devices plus built-in LAN adapterMidSharing a wired network link
USBC Switch 4 Ports, 10 Gbps, RemoteUSB 3.2, 2 USB-C to C cablesMid to premiumTwo USB-C laptops
10 Gbps USB-C Switch, File Sync4 USB 3.2 Gen 2 ports, controllerMid to premiumMoving files between computers

How these switches differ from a plain hub

See also: Best UGREEN Webcams for PC: Five Listings Sorted by Resolution, Autofocus and Desk Fit • Best UGREEN KVM Switches for Shared Monitors, Keyboards and Mice

A hub splits one port into several for one computer. A switch connects a set of devices to one of two computers at a time, and a button or remote decides which. The idea suits anyone who keeps a work laptop and a personal desktop on the same desk and would rather not reach behind either one to move a cable. From an ergonomics angle, the gain is one keyboard and one mouse at one comfortable position instead of two sets competing for space.

Titles in this set show three generations of the idea. Older entries stay on USB 2.0 or 5 Gbps USB 3.0 with USB-A cables. Newer ones put USB-C on the computer side, quote 10 Gbps, and add extras such as a built-in network adapter or a file-sync feature. Which generation you need depends mainly on whether a storage drive will share the switch.

How the list was put together

Each listing was read for what its title states: link speed, port count, port types, included cables and whether a controller, remote or power adapter ships in the box. Sources are published specifications, manufacturer documentation and buyer reviews. Nobody on the team used or measured these units. Anything the title does not say is marked as a listing question rather than guessed.

The ten listings

UGREEN 4-Port USB 3.0 Switch with Controller (USB C and A)

This is the most flexible entry for a mixed desk. The title mentions both USB C and A devices, four downstream ports, two USB 3.0 cables and a controller, which is the small wired pad that sits on the desk and flips the connection. A USB 3.0 link is nominally 5 Gbps, enough for a keyboard, mouse, webcam and a portable drive used one at a time. If one computer is a USB-C-only laptop, confirm the adapter or cable type in the box.

It overlaps heavily with the one-button USB 3.0 listing further down, so the controller is the main difference you can verify from the titles.

A practical scenario: a home-office desk with a work laptop on the left and a personal tower on the right, one keyboard, one mouse, and a webcam that both machines need for calls. The controller lives beside the keyboard, one press moves everything, and the webcam is ready on the other side without unplugging anything. Question to ask before buying: which of the two cables in the box matches the laptop port?

Pros

  • Controller can sit next to the keyboard
  • 5 Gbps link class suits drives
  • Both USB-C and USB-A devices mentioned

Cons

  • Power source is not stated in the title
  • Bus-powered drives plus a webcam may strain it

UGREEN USB 2.0 Switch Selector, 4 Devices, One-Button

The only USB 2.0 model here, aimed at keyboards, mice, scanners and printers. USB 2.0 is 480 Mbps nominal, plenty for input devices and a printer, and noticeably limiting for a modern external drive. The cables are USB A to A, so both computers need a full-size USB-A port. A newer laptop with only USB-C ports will need an adapter that the title does not mention.

Choose it when speed is irrelevant and cost is the priority. Skip it the moment a portable SSD enters the picture.

A realistic use is a shared office corner where one printer, one scanner and a basic keyboard serve a desktop and a spare laptop. Nothing in that list needs more than USB 2.0. Question to ask before buying: does either computer lack a full-size USB-A port? If so, an adapter changes the cost picture and the cleaner answer may be one of the C-capable boxes.

Pros

  • Simple one-button swapping
  • Fine for printers and scanners
  • Two cables included

Cons

  • 480 Mbps ceiling slows drives
  • USB-A only on the computer side

UGREEN USB 3.0 Switch Selector, 4 Ports, One-Button

Spec-wise this sits between the previous two: 5 Gbps class, four ports, a button on the box and two USB 3.0 cables. Next to the USB 2.0 version the difference is the link speed and the cable type, not the button or the port count, and that is the whole reason to spend a little more.

It suits a desk where the box can live within reach, such as a shelf under a monitor riser. If the box ends up behind a computer, the controller-equipped listings are easier to live with, since you press the button daily.

Think of it as the budget answer for a gaming desktop plus a work laptop, where a mouse, keyboard and a portable hard drive need to follow whichever machine is active. Question to ask before buying: where will the box sit? If the answer is behind the computer, price in the annoyance of reaching back there each time.

Pros

  • 5 Gbps class for drives and webcams
  • Straightforward layout
  • USB 3.0 cables included

Cons

  • Button is on the box, so placement matters
  • USB-A to computer side only, going by the title

UGREEN 2-in 7-Out USB 3.0 Switch (4 USB-A + 3 USB-C)

Seven downstream ports is the standout. Four are USB-A and three are USB-C, so a keyboard, mouse, headset dongle, drive and a phone cable all have a place. The title also lists a USB-C male adapter and a power adapter, which matters because a supplied power adapter takes pressure off the computer’s port.

It is the pick for a crowded dock-style desk. For a lean setup with only a keyboard and mouse it is far more hardware than necessary.

A fitting scenario is a streaming or editing desk with a keyboard, mouse, audio interface dongle, card reader and a phone cable that all have to follow one of two computers. Question to ask before buying: how many of the seven ports will you really fill? If the answer is three or fewer, a 4-port box is cheaper and tidier.

Pros

  • Seven ports in total
  • Mixed A and C connectors
  • Separate power adapter listed

Cons

  • Needs a wall outlet nearby
  • Bulkier than the 4-port boxes

UGREEN 2-in 7-Out USB 3.2 Switch, 10 Gbps

The layout mirrors the USB 3.0 7-out model, with four USB-A and three USB-C ports, but the title quotes 10 Gbps and USB 3.2 and says it works with A or C computers. Both the Type C converter adapter and the power adapter are named. That makes this the near-twin of the previous listing, and the speed is what you pay extra for.

Whether the A-type ports also run at 10 Gbps is a listing question, since the title only says 10 Gbps for the switcher overall.

Picture a desk where a fast external SSD, a mouse, a keyboard and a USB-C hub all move between a laptop and a desktop. The 10 Gbps class keeps the drive from being the bottleneck on that link. Question to ask before buying: does your fastest drive actually exceed 5 Gbps? If not, the cheaper 7-out model gives the same port layout.

Pros

  • 10 Gbps class for fast drives
  • A or C computers accepted
  • Power adapter included

Cons

  • Priciest tier of the set
  • Per-port speed split not spelled out

UGREEN USB Switch with A and C Input and Remote, 4 Ports

The remote is the distinguishing feature here. Title wording points to four shared ports, two USB-C data cables and an input that accepts A or C computers. Speed is not stated, so do not assume USB 3.0 or better without checking the listing.

A remote helps when the box hides under a desk or behind a monitor arm, which is common on ergonomic setups where the surface is cleared. Whether it is wired or wireless is the other thing to confirm.

A natural fit is a standing-desk setup where the box is clipped under the surface and a remote sits on top. Webcam and microphone are named in the title, so video calls are an intended use. Question to ask before buying: what speed does the listing state for the ports? The title leaves that open, and a drive needs the answer.

Pros

  • Remote avoids reaching for the box
  • USB-C data cables included
  • Webcam and microphone use mentioned

Cons

  • Link speed missing from the title
  • Remote type is unclear

UGREEN USB 3.0 Switch 2 in 2 Out

The smallest in the group: two shared ports and two USB 3.0 cables. It handles a keyboard and a mouse, or a printer and a scanner, and not much else. The wording “printer splitter” in the title is loose; this is a switch, not a splitter, so only one computer reaches the printer at a time.

If you already know you will add a webcam later, the 4-port versions leave room to grow without a second purchase.

A typical home is one wireless-dongle keyboard and mouse pair that has to follow a work laptop and a desktop, nothing more. Two ports covers it and costs less than the four-port boxes. Question to ask before buying: will a webcam, headset or drive join the desk in the next year? If yes, a four-port model avoids replacing this one.

Pros

  • Compact footprint
  • 5 Gbps class link
  • Cheaper than the 4-port boxes

Cons

  • Only two ports
  • No spare port for a drive or dongle

UGREEN USB 3.0 Switch with Built-in Gigabit Ethernet

An unusual combination: four USB devices plus a built-in gigabit LAN adapter, with two USB cables and a controller. The idea is that a single wired network connection follows the keyboard and mouse from one computer to the other. That helps a laptop without an Ethernet jack, or a desk with one wall jack.

Network and USB devices share the same upstream link, so a big drive copy and a large download compete. Driver support for the adapter on each operating system is a listing question.

Consider a small apartment desk with one wall jack and two computers, where a wired connection beats weak Wi-Fi for video calls. One cable from the wall goes into the switch and the active computer gets it automatically. Question to ask before buying: do both of your operating systems have a driver for the network chip, or will it install itself?

Pros

  • Shares wired network along with devices
  • Controller included
  • Saves a separate Ethernet dongle

Cons

  • Shared bandwidth with USB devices
  • Niche if both computers already have Ethernet

UGREEN USBC Switch, 4 USB 3.2 Ports, 10 Gbps, Remote

The cabling is USB-C to C, two cables in the box, which fits two modern laptops directly with no adapter. Four USB 3.2 ports at 10 Gbps class and a remote round it out. Compare it with the file-sync model below: both four-port 10 Gbps, with the remote and the cable set the clearest differences.

An all-USB-C laptop pair is the target buyer. An older desktop with USB-A only would need an adapter that is not mentioned in the title.

The matching scenario is two USB-C laptops, one personal and one from an employer, sharing a keyboard, mouse and portable SSD at a single workstation. The C-to-C cables mean nothing extra to buy. Question to ask before buying: does each laptop port carry data at full speed, or is it a slower charge-first port?

Pros

  • C-to-C cables included
  • 10 Gbps class
  • Remote adds flexibility

Cons

  • No USB-A input stated
  • Power source not listed

UGREEN 10 Gbps USB-C Switch with File Sync and Cross-Screen Drag

The title advertises file sync and cross-screen drag, which implies a data link between the two computers rather than only a shared peripheral switch. Four USB 3.2 Gen 2 ports and a controller are listed. Treat the sync feature as something to verify: the title does not say whether it needs software, which operating systems it supports or how fast it runs.

Anyone who simply wants a keyboard and mouse switch can ignore the extra and take a cheaper model.

It could appeal to someone who moves screenshots, documents and project files between a laptop and a desktop all day and would like to skip cloud uploads. Question to ask before buying: does the feature rely on an app, and does it support both of your operating systems? Without those answers, treat the listing as a fast 4-port switch that may also move files.

Pros

  • 10 Gbps Gen 2 ports
  • Computer-to-computer transfer claimed
  • Controller included

Cons

  • Sync requirements not stated
  • Paying for a feature you may not use

How to choose

Keyboards, mice and printers are fine on USB 2.0. Webcams are usually fine on a 5 Gbps link. Storage is where the ceiling shows up. The table below shows rough ceilings; real transfers are lower, and the figures are general standards knowledge, hedged accordingly.

Link classNominal rateRough theoretical ceilingFits
USB 2.0480 MbpsRoughly 60 MB/sInput devices, printers, scanners
USB 3.0 / 3.2 Gen 15 GbpsRoughly 500 MB/sWebcams, SATA SSDs, hard drives
USB 3.2 Gen 210 GbpsRoughly 1 GB/sFast NVMe enclosures

Count ports and cable ends before checkout

Draw your desk on paper: two computers on one side, devices on the other. Each computer needs a cable that fits one of its ports, and each device needs a spot on the switch. USB-C and USB-A ports are not interchangeable without an adapter, which is why the cable bundle in each title counts as much as the port count.

Controller, remote or button

You will press it dozens of times a week, so reach matters. A button on the box suits a shelf. A controller or remote suits a desk with the box tucked away. Ergonomically, one clear press beats twisting to find a button behind a monitor.

Power and heat

Bus-powered switches draw from the active computer. Models that list a power adapter supply their own. If you plan on charging a phone or running a bus-powered drive, look for an adapter in the title or a drive with its own supply.

Which one for which user

If your desk looks like thisLook atWhy
Keyboard and mouse only2 in 2 OutSmallest and cheapest
Printer or scanner sharedUSB 2.0 boxSpeed not needed
Keyboard, mouse, webcam, a drive4-port USB 3.0 with controllerRoom to grow
Two USB-C laptopsUSBC 10 Gbps with C-to-C cablesNo adapters
Dock-style desk with many accessories7-out listingsExtra ports and own power
One wall Ethernet jackGigabit Ethernet listingNetwork follows the switch

Worked example: a two-computer desk

Assume a work laptop with USB-C and a desktop with USB-A. Devices: wired keyboard, wireless-mouse dongle, a webcam, and a portable SSD. The assumptions below are round-number estimates, not measurements of any product.

DeviceAssumed draw at 5 VAssumed data need
Keyboard100 mANegligible
Mouse dongle100 mANegligible
Webcam300 mAUnder 1 Gbps
Portable SSDUp to 900 mAAbout 3.6 Gbps at 450 MB/s
TotalAbout 1.4 A, or 7 WAbout 4.6 Gbps

One USB 3.0 port is specified for roughly 900 mA, so the 1.4 A total exceeds a single bus-powered port. That points to a model with a power adapter, or a drive with its own supply. On the data side, 4.6 Gbps sits close to the usable ceiling of a 5 Gbps link, so the 10 Gbps class gives breathing room if the drive and the webcam run together.

Mistakes buyers make

MistakeFix
Assuming USB-C on the box means 10 GbpsRead the speed in the title; one listing here does not state it
Ignoring cable endsMatch USB-A and USB-C against both computers
Switching mid-copyEject the drive first
Expecting video switchingUse the monitor’s input button
Buying 7-out for a keyboard and mouseA 2 or 4-port box is enough

Two more worth stating plainly. Do not treat near-duplicate listings as different products: the USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 one-button boxes share a layout, and the link speed is what differs. And do not count a sync feature as essential unless you have a reason to move files directly between computers.

Verdict by use case

For a typical shared desk, the 4-port USB 3.0 switch with a controller balances cost and flexibility. For printers and input devices only, the USB 2.0 box is plenty. For two USB-C laptops, the USBC 10 Gbps switch with C-to-C cables skips adapters. For a busy accessory desk, the two 7-out models bring their own power. The file-sync and Ethernet versions are specialists; choose them only if their extra feature solves a problem you actually have.

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a powered USB switch?

It depends on what hangs off the downstream ports. A keyboard and mouse draw very little, so a bus-powered switch is usually fine. Add a bus-powered portable drive, a webcam and a phone that charges over USB, and the combined draw can pass what one upstream port supplies. Models whose titles list a power adapter remove that worry. If a drive keeps disconnecting, check power before blaming the cable.

Will a USB 3.0 switch slow down my external SSD?

It can cap it. A 5 Gbps link tops out near 500 MB/s in theory, and real transfers land lower, so a fast NVMe enclosure can be held back. Every device also shares the active computer’s upstream link, so a webcam running during a copy takes a slice. If drive speed matters, pick a 10 Gbps listing or plug the drive straight into the computer.

Can one switch share a monitor as well?

No. These are USB switches, so they move USB devices only. Video has to be switched separately, either by a KVM, a monitor with multiple inputs and a built-in USB hub, or by pressing the input button on the display. Many people pair a USB switch with a monitor’s input button and just press both when changing computers, which takes a second or two.

Is it safe to press the button while a drive is copying?

Avoid it. Switching disconnects the drive from one computer and presents it to the other, which interrupts any transfer in progress and can leave the file system in a bad state. Finish the copy, eject the drive in the operating system, then switch. Keyboards, mice and webcams are far less sensitive and reconnect within a moment or two, so those can follow the button freely.

Does a USB switch work between a USB-C laptop and a USB-A desktop?

Only when the listing includes the right inputs. Several titles here bundle two cables of different types or add a USB-C male adapter, so one computer can use USB-C while the other uses USB-A. Count the cable ends in the box against your two computers before ordering, and confirm that your laptop port carries data and is not a charge-only connector.

Do keyboard shortcuts or hotkeys work for switching?

The titles describe a button, controller or remote, not a keyboard hotkey. If hotkey switching matters to you, treat it as unconfirmed and check the listing, because USB switches and KVM switches differ on this point.

About the Digital Desk Solutions Editorial Team

The Digital Desk Solutions editorial team writes about work-from-home setups: desks, ergonomic chairs, monitors, lighting and cable management. Recommendations follow ergonomics guidance and published specifications, weighed against long-term owner feedback and the realities of small home offices.

Explore Our Guides & Free Tools